Mar 2023 IRG – Fire and Emergency New Zealand station rebuilds and upgrades

IRG Funding: \$51.3m | Total Project Spend: \$56.6m



Fire and Emergency New Zealand was established under The Fire and Emergency New Zealand Act 2017, which combined urban and rural fire services into a single, integrated fire and emergency services organisation tasked with providing a wide range of services for communities.

There are more than 14,000 career, volunteer and support personnel across the organisation who respond to structure and vegetation fires, motor vehicle crashes, medical emergencies, hazardous substances incidents and extreme weather events. In July 2020, Fire and Emergency received \$51.3 million in funding for fire station rebuilds and upgrades. The organisation was fortunate to have a range of work planned and prepared across their portfolio.

This injection of Government funding has been put to excellent use with 26 upgrades and rebuilds completed under the three-year programme, supporting their focus on a fit-for-purpose and consistent property network across the country. Local communities will benefit hugely from having fit-for purpose facilities allowing Fire and Emergency to respond faster to a range of community emergency needs, make it easier to attract much-needed volunteers and will also be more resilient in the face of natural hazards.

The funding provided an opportunity to accelerate work under Fire and Emergency's national property capital works programme, ranging from the total replacement of several stations that had reached the end of their life or had significant seismic issues, through to partial refurbishments and improvements to obsolete facilities. The funding also allowed Fire and Emergency to deliver new and improved facilities in a range of locations earlier than it had anticipated. The locations that benefited from this funding are Napier, Christchurch Central, Greymouth, Athol, Paeroa, Pōkeno, Kawakawa Bay, Titahi Bay, Seaview, Appleby, Featherston, Cavalli, Okaihau, Waipawa, Greytown, Balclutha, Peel Forest, Makarora, Taihape, Waihi, Huntly, Stokes Valley, Sumner, Darfield, Rangitata Gorge, and Kaikoura.